Islington Green Party People

Cllr Caroline Russell - Highbury East Ward Councillor & London Assembly Member

Councillor Caroline Russell was elected in May 2014 to represent Highbury East on Islington Borough Council. She was the General Election Candiate for Islington North in 2015 and is currently a London Assembly Member.

Cllr Caroline RussellCouncillor Russell is a long-standing campaigner based in Highbury specialising in advocacy on behalf of pedestrians and more people-friendly streets. She has campaigned successfully for 20mph limits on main roads in Islington.

For more information on Caroline - go here.


Twitter: @highburyonfoot



Benali Hamdache – Election Co-Ordinator

Benali Hamdache

Benali Hamdache has worked as a campaigns coordinator for a migrants' rights charity as well as having helped set up a charity that advocates on behalf of young people with mental health problems.

He worked on the Remain campaign in 2016 and has campaigned around marriage equality and against the blood ban. He became a party member several years ago because of the Green Party's social justice policies, its humane common sense stance on immigration and its advocacy of gender equality and LGBTIQ rights. 

Twitter: @GreenBenali


Katie Dawson - Islington Councillor 2006-2010

Katie DawsonKatie Dawson was a Green Councillor in Islington for four years.

Read more about her work as a councillor here.